When you want to sell your old iPad to buy a new one, you will want to take a few steps ahead of time such as backing up your data so you can later upload it to your new iPad. To make a backup, you can choose iTunes or iCloud. If you are using iTunes for your backup, connect your iPad to your computer and open iTunes. From that point, select your iPad under Devices in the left hand column of the screen then right click or control click the name of your iPad and choose Back Up. Make sure you also transfer purchases at this time as well so you don’t lose anything that hadn’t been transferred yet.

If you are using iCloud to backup your iPad to get it ready to sell, make sure you are connected to Wi-Fi and launch the Settings app. After you have launched the Settings app on your iPad, choose iCloud and then tap on Storage & Backup. This can take several minutes to completely backup your iPad depending on how much data needs to be backed up.

After you have backed up your data from your iPad that you are getting ready to sell, you will want to make sure to turn off the Find My iPad and the Activation Lock.  This will allow the new user to connect the iPad to their Apple ID and no longer be associated with yours. To do this, launch the Settings app and tap on iCloud. When you have opened iCloud from Settings, scroll down until you see the Find My iPad option and tap it off. To disable the Activation Lock on your iPad before you sell it, login to iCloud and open the Find My iPhone option, then click on “Devices” and find your iPad. When you’ve found your iPad listed in Devices in your iCloud account, tap on the cross icon that shows up right next to it.

After you have turned off Find my iPad and disabled the Activation Lock, you will then want to erase all the data and settings on your iPad before you turn it over to the new owner. This should be done after you make sure your iPad has a full charge. Then, launch the Settings app and tap on General. Once you have tapped on General in the Settings app of your iPad, scroll down until you find Reset and tap on that. From that point tap on the “Erase All Content and Settings” option and enter the passcode if you need that.

After your iPad starts to erase all your data and settings, you will see the Apple logo and a progress bar that will show you have far along the iPad is with erasing your data and settings. This process could take a few minutes or up to several hours depending on how old your iPad is and how much data you have stored on it. When this is complete and if you have jailbroken your iPad, you will want to plug it into your computer and choose the Restore button.

When you have completed erasing the data and settings on your Ipad and have reset it if it needs to be reset, you will want to make sure that it is no longer linked to your Apple ID. To do this, go the Support Profile page at Apple and login using your Apple ID. After you have logged in, choose Edit Products and click on the X that will appear to the right of your iPad. After you have clicked on the X, choose Unregister and then Remove SIM/deactivate device. If you have a cellular plan with your iPad, remove that SIM card and contact your carrier to make sure that the iPad is removed from your account. Then, you will be ready to sell your iPad and the new owner can set up their own carrier service, settings and Apple ID.

Incoming search terms:

  • ipad ready to sell